2020 Faculty Research Award

Contest winners: Katharine M. Hill, Shannon R. Lane, Jenna Powers, and Tanya Rhodes Smith.

From the Empire State to the North Star State: Voter Engagement in the 2016 Election, The Journal of Sociology & Social Welfare: Vol. 46: Iss. 1, Article 7.

Voter engagement has the potential to be a fundamental part of social work practice and key to the professional socialization of social work students. This article describes a classroom-based voter engagement project conducted in two undergraduate social work programs in different U.S. states with significantly different voting laws. We describe the rationale, process of implementing the project, evaluation, and review the results in the context of the 2016 election. We suggest future research that can help develop best practices and methods for implementation of voter engagement in social work practice and education in the future.