The Bruce S. Jansson MSW Award – $350 for the winning entry

The Katharine V. Byers BSW Award – $350 for the winning entry

Deadline: April 13, 2020

Who is eligible? Full-time or part-time BSW and MSW social work students and full-time and adjunct faculty in accredited or in-candidacy social work educational programs in the United States of America.

Awards: A total of 2 awards will be made to students (as individuals or collaborative groups): one at the BSW level ($350) and one at the MSW level ($350). Cash awards will be given to each of the two winners. Group winners will share the award. The faculty member(s) that mentor each winning student or students will also win cash awards of $100. Faculty are encouraged to promote the 2020 ISP contest among their students. Why? It’s the only way a faculty member can win. In order to win the faculty award at the BSW or MSW level, (1) a faculty member’s student must win first place; and (2) the faculty members must be listed on the electronic entry form. Faculty may assist the student(s) without restriction.

What to submit: Describe in a two (2) page, 12pt. font, double-spaced Word document a project in which you endeavored to influence or advocate for a local, state, or national social policy or a piece of state or federal legislation. State (1) the purpose of the project; (2) the outcomes of your efforts; (3) the estimated number of persons affected by your project and (4) what you learned about policy-making. Examples of such a project might include but is not be limited to: organizing clients presenting testimony at public hearings; lobbying state agencies as a member of a coalition; conducting a survey of legislators’ viewpoints on an issue; getting a bill introduced by a legislator; planning a rally day; giving testimony before a subcommittee; or designing and carrying out a research study on policy, etc. Ask a faculty member or ISP board member for help or clarification about your idea for a project. Check past contest winners.

Where to submit entry? Please submit all BSW and MSW entries electronically through the BSW and MSW contest link.

Deadline: All entries must be submitted no later than midnight, Monday, April 13, 2020. No entries received after this date will be reviewed.

Judges: A committee of social work faculty selected by ISP will review all entries and determine the winners. Their decisions will be final.

When and where will awards be made? An awards ceremony will take place during the MACRO Conference 2020 in St. Louis, May 28-30, 2020. Unfortunately, ISP cannot pay travel or lodging expenses, but will pay for student conference registration for two students and one faculty registration. Hopefully, social work education programs will assist the winners, who will be notified in advance. If students and faculty are not able to attend the MACRO Conference, they will be invited to attend the 2021 Policy Conference.

What will happen to your entry? All entries will be featured on the ISP website by Fall, 2020.